Text Size

Museum of Devotion : Wants versus needs

digi CD
Sales price: 9,00 €

Museum of Devotion : Wants versus needs (End 021) : 14,00 €

digi CD – Released on may 29th 2014

Museum of Devotion are an American Electro-industrial band formed in Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States of America, in 1986 featuring James Cooper on vocals, guitar, keyboards and Robert Anderson on lead guitar, bass guitar and keyboards.
Their first album, "…to the Pink Period", was released in 1988 to critical acclaim and positioned the band into Coldwave genre as being electro-industrial along with other bands such as This Mortal Coil, The Sisters of Mercy, Joy Division, and Asylum Party to mention a few. Museum of Devotion followed up in 1989 with their "Racist" EP which featured a more electronic spin to their style, including an aggressive cover of "Groove Line" by the funk group Heatwave (band). In 1990, Museum of Devotion pressed "Wants Verses Needs" which featured a Belgium top ten dance track "Sunshine". On this album the band paid tribute to the United Kingdom power house Squeeze (band) by doing a dark version of Take Me I'm Yours. In 1991 an obscure Los Angeles DJ mix emerged with the "Sunshine" singles. The principal line up to the band remains the same after emerging from a career hiatus 2012 with new material and the same Coldwave attitude. Despite the band’s absence from the scene, their relevance remains, as seen by tracks such as "Canary in a Cathouse" and "Devotion" continuing to be on regular spin rotation by DJ’s across Europe and the United States in the gothic rock and Darkwave scenes. In January of 2014, Museum of Devotion released a music video for their 1990 single, “Slomo” on YouTube.

The footage was shot in 1990 in preparation for the music video, but their record label, Lively Arts, and it's parent, New Rose Records, folded before the video was completed. The band recovered the footage and released it on Youtube, 24 years after the project was started.
In February of 2014, Museum of Devotion digitally released the "Another Cold Wave" EP which is a return to their darkwave roots. Along with the release of the new EP, Museum of Devotion remastered their first two albums, "...to the Pink Period" and "Wants Versus Needs” which are now available through Infrastition.


1. Slomo
2. Feel Love
3. Save Me
4. Never
5. Kiss Me In The Moon
6. Quimbi Heaven
7. Transe-America
8. Crash & Burn
9. Take Me
10. Sunshine
11. Grooveline - from Racist EP